This year was the closest I came to achieving the writing dream.

I landed a contract with a small up and coming publishing house. My first novel was out in the world and I had the support of a fantastic writing community. Then life happened.

An unforeseen mishap sunk the house, left me with no publisher, my book taken down off Amazon and a complete loss of ebook royalties. It was a pretty big set back. It could have been the big set back to topple me over, if not for the support of that fantastic writing community.

I have met many amazing people through my time on Wattpad. It is a free site, and a strange business. It is not perfect, but the people are amazing. The bonds and friendships I have formed there will carry far beyond however long I stay on the site. (Though I doubt I am going anywhere anytime soon.)

wattpadtoastmine
The best people around!

I couldn’t ask for a greater crew of people, who helped launch me TWICE into the big wide ocean of Amazon.

It has not been the easiest journey. I am still trying to get my footing and learn how to promote my work. My royalties might be small, but it is a start and I learn more and more everyday. I continue to write. I continue to create.

I don’t want to talk about other worries, we all have them about money and personal doubts. What is important is despite all the set backs of this summer, I have also had some pretty amazing push forwards.

I had the chance to collaborate and appear in several anthology, including a Science Fiction anthology titled Nemesis which should be out by the end of the summer on Amazon.

I have finally finished my grand epic dark Fantasy Marrow Charm, and am now working on the sequel as I edit, edit, edit.

I hope to complete the sequel to Zombies vs Aliens this summer and another book, Ragnarok Unwound, as well.

If this summer has taught me nothing else, it is to keep pushing forward.

Love and squeaky toys

Kristin

icon